The Official Assembly Vote

Comments Off

As we prepare for Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger's announcement later today that he's renominating Abel Maldonado to be lieutenant governor, it's good to set the record straight on who voted which way in the Assembly's weird and wild ride last Thursday.

The Assembly clerk's office provided a copy this morning of the final tally, with 37 assemblymembers voting in favor of Maldo's nomination, 36 voting no, and six who did not vote. That differs only by one from what appeared to be Thursday's tally -- a vote against Maldo by Assemblymember Dave Jones (D-Sacramento), who at the time was listed as not voting. It's also worth noting that only eight of the Assembly's 49 Democrats voted in favor of the Republican nominee, and only one GOP assemblymember -- Assemblymember Chuck DeVore (R-Irvine) chose not to support Maldo, instead opting to abstain.

37 AYES: Adams, Anderson, Arambula, Beall, Bill Berryhill, Tom Berryhill, Blakeslee, Caballero, Conway, Cook, Emmerson, Fletcher, Fuller, Gaines, Galgiani, Garrick, Gilmore, Hagman, Harkey, Huber, Huffman, Jeffries, Knight, Lieu, Logue, Miller, Monning, Nestande, Niello, Nielsen, Norby, Portantino, Silva, Smyth, Strickland, Tran, Villines.

36 NOES: Ammiano, Block, Blumenfield, Bradford, Brownley, Buchanan, Calderon, Chesbro, Coto, Davis, Eng, Evans, Feuer, Fong, Fuentes, Furutani, Hall, Hayashi, Hill, Jones*, Lowenthal, Ma, Mendoza, Nava, John Perez, Manuel Perez, Ruskin, Saldana, Skinner, Solorio, Swanson, Torlakson, Torres, Torrico, Yamada, Speaker Bass.

6 NOT VOTING: Carter (Absent), De La Torre, De Leon, DeVore, Hernandez, Salas.

(* Clerk lists the 'No' vote of Jones under the category of "Vote Added, Changed, or Corrected.")

RSS Subscribe

About John Myers

John Myers is Sacramento Bureau Chief for KQED Public Radio and "The California Report," heard daily on 23 public radio stations across the Golden State.

Comments are closed.